Feminism in the most unlikely places

I’ve been dabbling in a bit of Saturday morning rage for years. I can remember donning my dressing gown while my parents were still in bed and parking myself about a metre away from the box for what felt like a few solid hours. I think it’s probably fair to say that Video Hits, and to a lesser extent, rage, were where I first witnessed the sexualising and objectifying of women by men, not to mention women objectifying themselves. (It goes without saying: I’m looking back at a younger, more naive me through my now-enlightened feminist eyes. At the time I didn’t really understand what it all meant).

What initially struck me about this clip by Oscar Key Sung was the dancing (there’s something so pleasing about a dance routine performed perfectly in-time); the music is not particularly startling.

Then I started tuning in to the lyrics of the chorus:

Aren’t you sick of men
Thinking you need them
To tell you who you are
And what you are?

…I don’t wanna be that guy

I don’t wanna be that, I don’t wanna be that

I think it would be premature to get all excited about the significance of this one video clip. That is a whole other kettle of fish. But what I will say is, good on you, mate. Those are some very nice sentiments.

Leave a Reply

